PHOTO TIME: Assisi, an Italian Hilltown


So I decided to take a day trip to Assisi for a few reasons. One, I went on the one year anniversary of my grandfather’s passing – significant because his funeral mass was at Saint Francis of Assisi in Braintree, Mass.

And two, because our newest pope took the name of the Patron Saint of this city. By far, my favorite day trip. It was a personal day, away from all the drama, away from everyone. Just me and him. And I loved every minute of the day.

Assisi is one of the most beautiful day trips you can take in Italy. Whether you like castles, churches, medieval cities, countryside views or even a refreshing granita, this is a place for you. Only three hours from Rome by train, too. Of all day trips I have taken – to Sperlonga, Bracciano, Orvieto, and Bagnoregio – this has been the best one. It could be that I was so happy to celebrate my grandfather’s passing in a way that would give me a lifetime memory, or it could simply be due to the fact that Assisi is an underrated traveler’s paradise.

Click here to see the photo gallery.

Basilica San Francesco

2 thoughts on “PHOTO TIME: Assisi, an Italian Hilltown

  1. Assisi was also one of my favorite towns in Italy. The spirit of St. Francis definitely still resides there. It is such a peaceful and serene place. That was wonderful that you were able to honor your grandfather’s memory in such a beautiful place. Also thank you for the link to your facebook album. Great group of pictures.

    • Thank you for your kind words! The day meant a lot to me and I’m very happy that you liked what you read and the pictures I took. I would 100 percent agree with you, Assisi is a town I could see myself living in. That is, if I lived in Italy. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

