Digg This!


At first, I couldn’t decide whether I wanted to be a part of Digg or Reddit since I will most likely decide to keep the account for my own personal usage. I ended up choosing Digg by default. I’d like to point out that I was against using any site built like this for some time. That is, to use a site with the capabilities of the one here.

I Dugg a lot of links and made some comments and I also posted some of my own links. This is one that I Dugg on Gay Marriage. It talks about what would happen if it was legalized. It is more of a satirical picture of what would not happen.I got some return comments on this one. A commenter said it was all about the money. I responded back to him, but he hasn’t since then.

Another thing that I Dugg was Mark Zuckerberg’s latest legal jam with the guy who claims to own 80% of Facebook. This Facebook post was interesting because the Social Media Czar just got over a lawsuit settlement with the Winklevoss twins. A female commented back on this one and even another after that. I actually stimulated a discussion on this one, which was interesting. I was pleased with myself.

I also Dugg the fact that Peter Jackson’s, “The Hobbitt” will be shot at 48 frames per second. I thought it was kind of interesting that people are making a big deal out of this one, I mean Peter Jackson has a lot of money, but I don’t think the movie will be that good anyways. I could be wrong, but that is just me.

I did a fair amount of posting, commenting and general digging of links and posts. As for my analysis of the site, I loved it. Initially I hated it. But I loved fact that you can comment and share links. It’s so much more professional than say Facebook or anything like that. There is a level of professionalism that you don’t see anywhere else. I like the fact that I can share and view links to whatever stories I want and they are all in the same spot.

You can browse by category, or type of news and it is so easy to post your own links. It is like Facebook, but for news and professionals. I think this would be a good outlet for journalists, most use Twitter but having a Digg or Reddit would be so much better. People don’t even need to go to the New York Times or the Globe or any other major news site. I am never going to go a news site. I can see all the news I want, whenever I want, for free.

This is part of the future of online journalism, give it a couple of years and it could become big. Everything has a shelf life so people won’t be sticking to the main social media websites forever. I really liked this assignment and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Leave a Reply

