Journ391: Wikipedia


Blog assignment: Contribute something to an ALREADY-EXISTING Wikipedia entry. How long did it take to post? Was your submission accepted? Did it stay up? Did anyone add to or subtract from what you aded? Write about your experience. (150 words).

So this is the page I worked on, it is my town’s page. The reason I decided to work on my town page is because I live in a very small town where most people don’t care about anything, much less its wikipedia page.

Basically what I did was I added the, ‘The town newspaper is called the ‘Carlisle Mosquito.’ It has been the weekly independent newspaper of the town since 1972. The paper includes local news, announcements, and logs.

It is listed under the ‘history’ section.

I even added a citation of the mosquito’s homepage, so it looks very legitimate. The post went up immediately, hassle free, just like Capitol One preaches. It literally took no time at all. It has been up for a few days now and nobody has added or subtracted anything from it so i’m pretty happy about that. I decided I would do it because its a small town, and an even smaller page. I figured I would contribute. My next task is to add some information about Kimball’s Ice Cream.

 

 

 

The town newspaper is called the ‘Carlisle Mosquito.’ It has been the weekly independent newspaper of the town since 1972. The paper includes local news, announcements, and logs.

2 thoughts on “Journ391: Wikipedia

  1. Funny, i was assuming you made up the name ‘Carlisle Mosquito’, especially when I saw this error:
    “Error: no |title= specified when using {{Cite web}}”]
    I was surprised when I went to the URL and found it worked.

  2. Yea, I wasn’t sure how I could present it, so I just tried to cite as best I could. But in all seriousness, our town paper is the mosquito. I am almost positive it got its name from the obscene amount of mosquitoes we have buzzing through our town on any given day.

Leave a Reply

